Woohoo!!!

So I have an idea! And I’ve had it for a while, just wanted to check its viability before announcing I had one, but I’m sure now!

 

Woohoo!!!

Remember the chronicle about Production Labs, a module I’m taking this semester that I didn’t have an idea for? Yup, that one.  I was sitting with a class mate the other day and throwing ideas around and I mentioned that my concept for a radio show had just been approved by BCU’s Scratch Radio, and I was going to do the first live show in about two weeks.  And he said, ‘so why don’t you use it for your Production Labs project’?

So, I popped to see Dave Harte (my tutor) and after we discussed it a bit, we found/decided it would actually be a good idea for my Production Labs! Yay! So I have something to do now! And I’ll tell you about it in a bit.

The name of the radio programme is The Reading Room and it airs every Wednesday from 4pm – 5pm. The programme is an adaptation of one I’ve been on a couple of times back in Nigeria, it airs on 99.9 Kiss Fm in Abuja. The idea with that is for people to read, and be able to share stuff they’ve read and enjoyed with other people.

It’s the same thing with mine, the twist to it is that there’s a an agreed theme for every week, and people get to come on the show and read anything (poetry, quotes, proverbs, excerpts, etc), based on that theme. And of course, it’s great to play music related to the theme, kind of helps set the pace, and the mood for the day…

About ‘just’ finding the idea? Well that wasn’t exactly accurate because we ran the second episode of the show yesterday the 2nd of March 2011, and I’ll tell you about that in a bit too (or maybe I will in another chronicle)!

I’ve had to create a second twitter account (feel free to follow @bcureadingroom), and there’s a page on Facebook too: The Reading Room with Chioma.

So far though I must say there hasn’t been a lot of ‘agreeing on themes’ because I’m still trying to build an audience for the programme, and I must thank my course mates who have come on the show these two times! That said, I’m excited that the people following @bcureadingroom are slowly going beyond my classmates and buddies from Nigeria to people in the industry here! The pace of growth is not the same for the Facebook account, even though I have someone who’s coming on the show next week that I didn’t know before!

Challenges? A couple. To start with, part of the task is to make podcasts of the show, and that hasn’t happened yet. That’s because my producer kindly recorded the programme on the 23rd of February for me but in the nerves of that day, I didn’t take it. I haven’t ‘found’ him yet to retrieve it, and no one else at the studio seems to know where he might have stored it.

Again, one of the risks I identified in the project initiation document for this idea was I was scared I wouldn’t get enough feedback from the audience, one way to mitigate against that was to get people to suggest themes on Facebook or Twitter. With all my postings on the group and all my tweeting, nobody’s really suggested anything! What do I do?

Thirdly, I have found that it is not easy to run more than one twitter account. To start with it takes a lot more time to tweet using two accounts, then because both my accounts are following each other, I feel the need to be careful with what I say with the personal account because of course it’ll reflect on the ‘professional’ account’s time line. It can be tiring, especially when I really want to ‘let loose’ and talk crazy with my friends; I almost feel like my tweets aren’t honest anymore, like I can’t be myself again on Twitter. It all kind of brings to life something I studied in first semester that revolved around (a) an imagined audience, (b) contexts, (c) the ‘tweep’, and the authenticity of the tweets themselves based on a, b, and c.

 

I miss not being able to tweet as freely as I want! It's my twitter!

I’m working on resolving all three issues though; first is to find my producer, edit the first two editions of the show and make the podcasts available for download before the next edition of the show (9/03/2011). As for increasing my audience and followers, and of course going back to that place where I can feel free to tweet as I wish, err, that’s why i wrote this! What to do, what to do!

 

P:S – I’ll chronicle the first two shows in a separate chronicle…k?

 

Comments
  1. how are you, missed you.

    love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx

    Like

  2. hajo says:

    keep up the good work. i admire your forcus and hard work FGS. 🙂

    Like

Say something!

