I MUST KEEP LEARNING

Posted: October 6, 2011 in DAY 2 DAY, POETRY
Tags: , , ,

I must keep learning
Why you peak at sunset and set at sunrise
Your no for yes and yes for no
Why you claim to love me but hate me so
The Creator so loved that He gave, you take
And give nothing in return you break
Like a rock against a mirror you shake
My very foundations, my Haiti it quakes

I must keep learning
Why I am the builder and you the crusher
In our midst you free foxes with fiery tails
Then say the boat in unity best sails
I swell in pride at your thoughts you burst
I go I come I go the thrusts
From side to side like the pendulum’s curse
The former, the latter, the source

I must keep learning
One rule for the top, another for the bottom
Different pots of soup, yet you say we are one
For few sweet, the rest adapt to bitter
The words that day to day I pray
The labor of our heroes past should never be in vain
The words that day to day I pray
That one day my sweat would be my gain

I'll keep learning....

*Originally published on Facebook on 1st of February 2010.

Comments
  1. speluska says:

    This is love. When loving we neglect everything negative and the only thing we see and feel is that perfect somebody. Even if he?she doesn’t treat us well. Well written 🙂

    Like

  2. keep learning indeed, we all do.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Very well written and meaningful poem. Nicely done! Well said!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/treasure/

    Like

  4. poetryroad says:

    I really enjoyed this poem for its content as well as form. I like how you started each stanza and then each one unfolded.

    Like

  5. yes, it is a thin line bewteen love and hate

    i wrote a short love triolet

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/triolet-vi/

    Like

  6. Morning says:

    different pots of soup.
    love the line.

    well done.

    🙂

    Like

  7. Seabell says:

    Differences and contradictions are subjects I like presently. A good learning process… Well done!

    Like

  8. I hope that your sweat will be your gain. such a lovely poem and your ending is so sweet and dear and in relationships it is hard and we do sweat hoping that we can gain
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/10/the-bird-of-love/

    Like

  9. bendedspoon says:

    This is remarkable writeup — I can feel you. Hugggs and blessings to you 🙂

    Like

  10. moving words.

    well done, keep learming…

    Like

  11. tayojo says:

    Deep and inspiring! I like your style of expression.

    Like

  12. This is my first visit to your blog and I’m so glad to have discovered it. Your poetry touches deep inside the human spirit and your images bring the message home. Victoria

    Like

  13. Poets Rally says:

    Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have won the perfect poet award for week 58,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rallyby Friday if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

    Like

Say something!

