WHAT TO GIVE DADDY THIS YEAR?

Posted: October 12, 2011 in Blogs from and about school!, DAY 2 DAY, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

What’s the best gift you can give to someone who has given you everything? Someone you love, adore, someone you know you’re fashioned after? Someone who’s set the bar so high up for his kind sometimes you wonder if anyone will ever get there? In simple English, what do I give my dad for his birthday?

So it’s my daddy’s birthday tomorrow (13/10/2011); normally I would put this up on the day but I need your help because I want to do something a little off for him this year, and I’ll be needing your help to pull it through! It was a little difficult deciding to do this for him, and at a point I must admit I actually felt stumped! Three years ago, I sang him a song at church, and bullied/cajoled my darling elder brother to play the piano for me. The year after that I wrote him a poem, ‘The Best Man‘, originally published in my Facebook notes but later on this blog. The year after that (last year), I wrote an ‘open letter to my father’ on Facebook but also on this blog as well.  So unless I would be writing him a drama or penning his biography, I knew I had pretty much run out of art forms. Till I chanced on this idea.

Now my siblings and I were all in the country in August and so we pulled off a family dinner and photo-shoot for Momma’s birthday; it was amazing, and was an evening we’ll all remember for years to come! Plus the pictures were great too!

Swag's still intact! Both parents!

The thing is, two of us are out now, and the third person isn’t even in town on the day! How do we throw in some excitement for daddy’s birthday then? It’s out of the question that a party will happen (well, not completely out of the question, we just won’t be there). I was just throwing around in my mind ideas that would get him really excited on the day. What to do? What to do?

By the way, it’s safe for me to rant here because even though my darling daddy reads my blog (and promptly calls to correct any errors I might have made), with benefit of hindsight I know he won’t be here anytime before his day so we can do all the scheming here!

Ready? So this is the plan. In addition to all the gifts we got him, I want thirty people to call and sing happy birthday to my daddy; twenty in Nigeria, and ten outside Nigeria, from any part of the world. Thirty people, not only because it’s a modest, achievable number for 24 hours, but also because it is one of the numbers in the equation that will give the age he’s attaining if multiplied by a certain even number.  I hope to God I didn’t confuse you! Lol!

So that’s it, 30 people to call and wish my beloved daddy a very happy birthday on my behalf. You can sing, rap, anything, just say happy birthday to the man I adore! Can you help? Leave a comment here, or tweet at me and then I’ll give you the number to call. Mega thanks in advance!

Comments
  1. Wish I was here in 2011…*walks away quietly*

    Like

  2. I actually got quite a few people to ring him and say happy birthday o, was excited cos he was at the end of the day… You would have helped too abi?

    P:s – are you on Twitter? What’s your handle?

    Like

Say something!

