WHAT’S NEW?

Posted: February 26, 2012 in DAY 2 DAY, FUN!!!

Remember when I said I made an offer on Twitter to guest post on blogs for free? I did mention that the posts would be available on here twenty (20) days after appearing on the site. This is the first of them, written for Nze Sylva Ifedigbo, a dear friend and colleague. Nze is also a fabulous, award-winning writer and a contributor to both local and international media.

Titled, ‘what’s new’, my article is below.

 

I’ve always loved to read. Like really really loved it! Definitely not school books (somehow that’s always a chore till two nights before a test or exam) but anything else, I’m your girl! From old newspapers/magazines, to novels, random pamphlets, the Bible (definitely), the Qur’an and a bit of poetry, I’m excited by even the thought of a good read.

I think my love for reading was ignited by my mother, fuelled by my English teacher in Secondary School, but kept alive by me. Why? Because at some point you alone are responsible for your development. My mom would put her head into my room as a child and drop a book on my bed. ‘Read it’, she would say, and leave. And I would, because I was (and still am) a very good girl! Lol! Truth is, I didn’t have a choice!  After sometime though, I started to ask for books myself. When I’d search my siblings’ and parents’ room for letters, journals, etc. (when they were not there of course), sometimes telling myself I was looking for ‘treasure’ (as per Enid Blyton’s ‘Famous Five’).

In secondary school I loved my English teacher; she was graceful, a grandmother at the time (she never failed to remind us), and had studied abroad so she spoke ‘Queen’s English’. I always wanted to impress her so apart from my regular literature, I started reading dictionaries. Every time I used a ‘big’ word in class and she smiled at me, that was my reward right there and I would be back in the arms of my dictionary that evening. Now imagine how great I would have been if I had paid that much attention to Math. *sigh*

These days my favourite pastime is prowling bookshops and charity stores (especially charity stores) for books to read. I’m especially interested in autobiographies/biographies because all the public relations the books these days reek of, they give a deeper understanding about the person; tells the things you ordinarily wouldn’t have known. And then curling up with an old book and hot chocolate? Bliss! Not sure if it’s the smell of the book, or the excitement of turning the page (especially for a thriller), but they sure make my day!

I’ve got two friends, both male, who I love and respect. Both older, I dated one of them and the other is a former colleague. One thing they have in common is that they are so intelligent, and know a bit about literally everything! Every time we hang out with friends and discuss, their wealth of knowledge and the strength of their arguments always amuses and amazes me! Sends me online too though, to Google, Wikipedia; because I want to be better.

There’s a certain confidence information gives a person. Knowing what others know, or even better, what they don’t is a kind of high that is almost matchless for me. And that’s why it gives me pleasure *insert evil laughter here* to ‘confuse’ people who don’t know stuff, especially when I think they should know better. Of course I tell them the truth eventually (because I am good person, lol) but I must amuse myself first.

Now, in case you’re like me, these people are easy to spot. In a conversation, they’re easily swayed by every wind of doctrine. And I mean every wind of doctrine. It’s even more glaring (and hilarious) when it’s a large group and you can observe them taking sides with the next person with the loudest voice.  Does that sound like you? Catch yourself before you say yes aloud!

Ralph Waldo Emerson was noted for greeting friends with the question, ‘what has become clear to you since we last met’? Historians say this was a challenge, an invitation to assess the progress of their thinking.

So let me challenge you: when was the last time you read anything for fun? Not because you had to, but because you wanted to? In other words, what’s new?

Comments
  1. victor says:

    wonderful write up!

    Like

  2. Olyve says:

    Food for thought…..#np

    Like

  3. Charles says:

    My Fairy Sister, I like your style of writing, I almost thought you were sitting on the other side of the table (like say we dey gist). Here is my side of the gist; I have been pretty busy with some books, apart from my statistical analysis text books, I have been busy with some books related to humanitarian perspectives and conflict resolution. I have gone through tittles like: The globalization of poverty, Lords of poverty and How to Disagree Without Being Disagreeable, I’m presently on ”The Hand That Gives A Rose” by our own Mrs Alakija, in case you have free time on your hands (I know you are always busy) please check out ”The globalization of poverty”, I’d like to know if you agree to it’s suggestions and if you think they (suggestions) are responsible for the restiveness that followed the removal of the oil subsidy. (Please don’t say its an old news, people still dey pay the price for naija now now).

    Like

  4. nzesylva says:

    It was my utmost pleasure featuring this piece on my blog. Lovely write up as always.

    Like

  5. I read bestsellers alot,PLEASE where can i get all the series of PACESETTER NOVEL?? I WANT THEM FOR MY LIBRARY,I USE MY POCKET MONEY TO BUY SOME BACK IN THE DAYS!!!FOR MY KIDS TO READ GOOD BOOKS NOT WHAT WE HAVE NOW ON THE STAND CALL novel!!!!

    Like

  6. Sistah… Regretably I have to say nothing’s new, but I’ve gotta say a big thank you for this article.

    First of all it put a big smile on my face ‘cos it reminded me of what it was like growing up in my house, bursting at the seams with books of every description which I devoured like they were fresh from the oven, moist, gooey brownies.

    For me it was my dad not my mum. He would be reading his paper or we’d be watching TV and he’d stop and ask “Kalat what’s the meaning of…?” I usually wouldn’t know, so I’d go consult my trusty tattered Oxford Learners Dic. (don’t remember now who it was handed down to me from) and like you I soon found myself curled up in a corner just reading the dictionary.

    Something happened around the time I was finishing secondary school that your piece reminded me of and I don’t think I ever told my dad thanks for this. I was at his office in Kaduna and he asked me the meaning of “remuneration”. Smart kid that I was I tried to figure it out from the way it sounded and said it had something to do with re-numbering. Well I was wrong of course so off I was to get my dictionary and find out what it really meant.

    Strangely enough, I was in Lagos writing JAMB some months after leaving Kaduna and as I went through the Lexis & Structure section, the word remuneration caught my eye. I don’t need to say I came out of that paper thanking God for my dad.

    The second thing your article has reminded me of is the fact that I hardly ever read anything for the fun of it anymore.

    I still LOVE to read don’t get me wrong, but after the law reports, journals, case files, preparing processes I need to draft, deadlines… there just isn’t any time left. Plus I’m married now and I need to spend as much time as I can with the missus ‘cos I missed her so much during the day and work and other stuff took up my whole day so there just isn’t really any time left to curl up somewhere to read that new book that just hit the bookshelves that everyone’s so psyched about.

    I must end my rant now and get back to that written address but I’m sure you catch my drift. This was a whiff of fresh air and ‘cos there’s not much I can do right now about this love affair on hold, I’ll just call this my ode on a love on hold and look forward to that stage in my life when I can lean back into a comfortable chair and embrace this love without any nagging twinge of guilt somewhere on the edge of my subconscious reminding me of what I’m supposed to be doing right now… OMG, my written addres:-}

    Like

    • Hey Kalat!! To start with, congratulations on your wedding o!!! My regards to the Mrs! Funnily, I have a ‘remuneration’ story as well, maybe I’ll share it in a chronicle so everyone can enjoy it!

      About not reading for fun anymore, what!!!! I mean I appreciate that your responsibilities have increased et al, but I’m sure you’ll find a way to work around it. And I hope to God you finished writing your address on time!

      Like

  7. […] the many I offered to do on Twitter on a certain day. Others have been ‘Bruce and Me‘, ‘What’s New’, ‘What is it about Glee‘, and a couple others that I won’t put up just yet! […]

    Like

  8. There you have it! Without an iota of doubt…*shakes head*..we are twin fairy god sisters @first and third paragraph…
    I especially love the Ralph Question…insightful and important for becoming better persons…

    Thank you!

    Like

Say something!

