Yup!! Today is the day! Today is the 14th of February 2013, also known as Valentine’s Day. Now I’d like to stay and chat and tell you what or what not to do today, how to treat your partner et al, how you plan to spoil yourself (or not) but err, I’m sure you have all that locked down. And If by the time you’re reading this your plans are not locked down, then, hopefully your significant other will be satisfied with your explanation.

I’m going to be spending a good chunk of today writing and reading, but I’m also going to spend a good part of it thinking about the people dear to my heart. While I’m doing that I will be singing along to these songs that have stolen into my heart and made camp.

I’ve included the lyrics to them, in case you enjoy them as much as I do!

1. Popsicle Toes – Michael Franks
And when God gave out rhythm

He sure was good to you.
You can add, subtract, multiply and divide…
By two.

I know today’s your birthday,
And I did not buy no rose.
But I wrote this song instead and I call it,
“Popsicle Toes”.

Popsicle toes.
Popsicle toes are always froze.
Popsicle toes.
You’re so brave to expose all those popsicle toes.

You must have been Miss Pennsylvania
With all this pulchritude.
How come you always load your Pentax
When I’m in the nude?
We oughta have a birthday party,
And you can wear you birthday clothes
We can hit the floor
And go explore those
Popsicle toes.
You got the nicest North America
This sailor ever saw.
I’d like to feel your warm Brazil
And touch your Panama

But Your Tierra del Fuegos
Are nearly always froze.
We gotta see saw
until we unthaw those
Popsicle toes.
Popsicle toes.
Popsicle toes are always froze.
Popsicle toes.
You’re so brave to expose all those popsicle toes

2. Sunday Morning Here With You – Michael Franks

Buried alive hoping to survive
‘Til the weekend
Can’t write the song
Struggle all week long
Bitter blue
But up on the roof we are living proof
Love’s nutritious
Such delicious Like the river we journey dj vu
Sunday morning here with you
Your kisses made with orange marmalade
Apple blossoms toast and tea
I cannot think of any place I’d rather
I’d rather be
My sleepy friend I always want to spend
Sunday morning here with you
I cannot think of anything I’d rather
I’d rather do
Lounging in bed Sunday papers read
Windows open
First day of spring hear the kettle sing
Tea for two
Lady in lace sunlight on your face
Quite an eyeful
Such delightful dj vu
Sunday morning here with you

That’s it!! Off you go, Happy Valentine’s Day!

xoxo!!

Say something!

