Hello you!

So, six days into the third month of 2013; where are you with your resolutions? Did you make any? I didn’t, I think I’ve grown past that phase of promising myself to do stuff different only because I need to ‘fulfil a tradition’.

Also because I haven’t done very well with keeping a lot of them! With different resolutions, there were years I didn’t go past the first six days of the new year, years when I mentally kept adjusting the resolution (because I couldn’t stick with it), and then years I even forgot I made any resolutions!

What do I do now? Plan. Concrete, achievable plans that I can evaluate periodically and then either move forward with or discard them.

Not talking about me a lot today though. Looking through my moleskin today I found a sermon from a service I attended on the 6th of January at House  On The Rock (HOTR) The Refuge, Abuja where Pastor Goodheart Obi Ekwueme talked on ‘7 Musts For The New Year’. It lifted my spirit, and I just thought to share the notes I took on the day.

Ready? Welcome to church!

Pastor started with all of us reading Isaiah 43:18 – 19. It says:

“Forget the former things;
    do not dwell on the past.
19 See, I am doing a new thing!
    Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
    and streams in the wasteland.

Then he said not to dwell in the past, but to live in today, stay alert, and expect great things from God.

Philippians 3:10 –  I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death”.

The scripture above was explained thus – one of the best ways to flourish/prosper in this Fast Track year is to simply find out what way God is going and go that way. Why? It is more profitable to ask God for His plan for your life than to present your plans for Him to bless. Amos 3:3

John 2:7 tells the story of the first miracle Jesus performed, when He turned water to wine at the wedding in Cana. The obedience of the servants was implicit, no questioning, no second-guessing; Jesus said to do, and they did.  “Jesus said to the servants, “Fill the jars with water”; so they filled them to the brim”.

My Fast Track is on the other side of my obedience. 2013 is the year to be wholly submissive to the will and direction of God for your life without question.

Proverbs 4:13 says “Hold on to instruction, do not let it go; guard it well, for it is your life” while Proverbs 4:18 says “The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter till the full light of day.”

So, what are the seven pointers for a beautiful, super productive 2013?

1. Recalibrate and take stock of the past (in this case, take stock of the first two months that have passed)

2. Make quality decisions for this year. Some of the decisions he talked about include:

  • decide to invest rather than spend/waste
  • invest time in things that make for eternal consequence
  • invest in quality relationships, alliances, and alignments
  • decide to serve God and humanity
  • decide to please God at all costs
  • decide to be the best at whatever it is you do

*looks like a lot of deciding to do right? That’s why we have the Holy Spirit, always there to help, all we need to do is ask*

3. Purpose to forget the past

4. Plan and programme strategically for the year. Where do you see yourself in March, in June, by August? What do you hope to achieve? What do you need to do to be able to achieve them?

5. Count the cost of Fast Track 2013 and be determined to pay the price.

6. Make God first/numero uno/The One – establish the law of priorities and stick with it.

7. All through the year, review your progress. How far? Are we on the way to the things we want to achieve?

May God bless the reading of His word, and prosper that same word in our hearts, amen.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Hugs!

Comments
  1. Sleeick Inc. says:

    Interesting…
    A good guide to follow
    Thank you, fairygodsister.

    Like

Say something!

