Unashamed, I’m going all in!

Posted: June 23, 2013 in His Word
Tags: , , ,

What are you going all in for?

Believe it or not, this advert was played in my church (Hillsongs, Dominion Theatre, London), the day before my birthday, the 19th of May! This is where you feel bad if you didn’t send me a card or a wish on my birthday!

Back to church, I don’t remember who preached; I know it was a guy and I can see his face in my head but his name escapes my head. Title of the message though was ‘going all in’, hence the advert.

Bibles and notepads out please? Lord let your word take root, germinate, and bring forth fruit in our lives this week, and always, in Jesus name. Amen!

Turn your Bibles to Romans 1:16. It says, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.”

Very quickly, the good news is the gospel of Jesus Christ!

So, how do we go all in?

1. Understand what the good news is all about: if you don’t, you can’t live it convincingly.

We should never forget that Jesus didn’t come to the earth to make bad men good, He came to make the dead alive, and to make the old new.

2. Fall in love with the good news. Love it beyond the thoughts and opinions of your friends and family. How do you show your love?

  • With our thoughts – Matthew 9:16
  • With our treasures – Matthew 6:21
  • With our time – Proverbs 6: 9
  • With our talk – Matthew 15:18

*Notice that talk comes last? Simply means we should think and act it before we start to run our mouths about who we are or are not worshipping.

3. Become confident in the good news. We shouldn’t conform or change our beliefs because of the people around us (that’s the reason we really need to understand and love the good news. It makes us unshakeable!)

St Augustine said,, “the truth is like a light, you don’t need to defend it; all you need to do is let it out and it will defend itself”.  That’s a message we all need to take with us everywhere we go. Some times it feels like we want to ‘fight for God’ when it says clearly in the Bible that He is more than capable and ready to fight for us. Let the light of God’s word shining through our thoughts, talk, and actions be all the ‘defence’ we put out for the kingdom, and quit with all the bashing of other religions. It’s that self-righteous, ‘hoity-toity’ that makes people reject us and our message.

4. Become addicted to the good news. When we fall in love, we want to be with our partners all the time, we think of them all the time, we want to talk about them and how wonderful they are any chance we get, we’re sad when we don’t hear from them, etc! It should be the same with the gospel – if we claim we love God, let’s show it!

1 Corinthians 9:27 – ” But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.”

5. Give glory to the creator of the good news

The one thing that separates us from the athletes in the advert is that we don’t give the glory to ourselves but to the Lord.

Psalm 108: 1 – 5 – “O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory/Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early…”

Luke 7: 36 – 48

Jesus isn’t two kings, he isn’t three aces, he’s the royal flush baby!! He’s the best hand we could ever have!

This week, what/who are you going all in for? Choose wisely!

Comments
  1. E' says:

    awwwwwwwhead…
    E
    i missed it
    too sad…
    still sending my best wishes for the new year n years a

    Like

  2. Good study, thank you! Happy Birthday Blessings to you!

    Like

Say something!

