What to do when life doesn’t play along?

Posted: August 4, 2013 in His Word, In memory of my aunty Pat
Tags: , , , , , , ,

You won’t believe it, but this was the message on Sunday the 21st of July, the same day my dear aunt passed. I attended church at Hillsongs that morning and I must confess, the presence of God was so strong that morning, I was on my third (or fourth) round of tears by the time the message was over.

From the worship session (and I had worked very hard to get a seat on the third row, I was so early) to the ‘I have decided’ session (that’s content for a different post), to the message by this really tall, older Texan.

Pastor Charles Newman preached on the message, “What to do when life doesn’t play along”. He talked about losing his wife of 44 or 45 years to cancer in December, and the entire message was centered on the things God taught him through that trying period. How was I to know God was preparing my heart? *sigh*

Bibles out? Lord let your word comfort us today, and remind us that regardless of what goes on around us, you are God, and you love us. Amen.

3rd John vs 16

Right beside trials and temptation is courage. Every single time, we just need to look.

Three things he learnt during the time.

1. Isaiah 40 : 31. Get back in the house of God where people are fellowshipping. That’s where my strength will be renewed. “Wait on the Lord” refers to “gathering before the Lord”, don’t forsake it!

2. John 11 : 20 – 24 – 38 Let God of “the now” into your situation. Jesus is not afraid of my pain – I can’t be like Martha, jumping from the past to the future of the things God can do/has done. I must trust Him to do, now.

3. 1 Sam 30: 1-6 Don’t go down the route of bitterness, find your strength in the Lord. Fasten yourself to Jesus; choose to be recovered.

Let Jesus define your recovery.

Then he talked about two quick lessons he drew from 2 Corinthians 11:22-31; where Paul talked about the tribulations he had endured. I’ve reproduced verses 24 – 26 below

“24 Of the Jews five times received I forty stripes save one.

25 Thrice was I beaten with rods, once was I stoned, thrice I suffered shipwreck, a night and a day I have been in the deep;

26 In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren…”

Lesson number 1 – In all of this, Paul never complained. He never asked God why

Lesson number 2 – Paul kept his perspective. He acknowledged that there is nothing new under the sun.

In the same way, Pastor said that he had to understand that the fact that his dear wife died did not mean the universe had aligned to cause him grief. Bad things happen to people.

I hope this message has helped you, I’m trusting God it will help me too.

Have a good week.

Comments
  1. Thanks for the pingback.

    Nice talk! Keep it up.

    Don’t forget to checkout my blog always.

    God Bless.

    Like

  2. Excellent!!! God bless you for sharing this wonderful message! Amen.

    Like

Say something!

