Four months on, still feels like yesterday…

Posted: November 21, 2013 in In memory of my aunty Pat
Tags: , , , , , ,

My darling Aunty Pat,

Four months ago today you were just about gone, breathed your last at 6.55pm. And ascended to be with God, far above cancer, pain, and everything else that plagued you.

I miss you o, Booski and I talk about you every day. Seems like it was just yesterday we were planning Christmas of 2012, shopping like crazy for everyone in Abuja, even though you were fresh from surgery. That’s one beautiful thing about you, you always put people before yourself. Always, you didn’t even have to think about it, selflessness came to you naturally.

A lot has changed since you left, makes me miss you even more. Stuff is changing, and there’s so much I wish I could talk to you about, so much to gist, laugh, and watch you put on your fake stern face for. Ha ha, my precious aunty, one in ten million. There’s so much to catch up on!

But you’re gone aren’t you? You are. I remember asking my father on the day of the funeral if you could wake up and he said no, too much time had passed. I didn’t believe him (just so you know), somehow I kept expecting you’d stand up during the church service. Would have been grand!!

I miss you aunty. I miss you every single day. And I’ll never forget you. Not even possible.

Sleep on. I love you loads.

Comments
  1. Daughter of Zion says:

    Precious memories keep you going strong. Auntee sure would be proud of how much you have grown in these past months. Trust me she sure hears your gist and does her hearty laughter everytime.

    Like

Say something!

