Trusting in God alone: My day @ St Jude’s Church, Wolverhampton…

Posted: November 23, 2013 in His Word
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the first Anglican church I’ve been to in like two years, last one I was in was St Paul’s Crofton in Orpington.

IMG-20131020-00088

Well, I was in Wolverhampton and so Booski and I attended this service. To be honest after we got in and sat down, I wasn’t even sure the service had started because the person (would later find out he was the vicar) took to the podium and started with some light-hearted banter! Asked what people had been up to in the past week, told us of traveling and reading the SatNav wrong and so ending up veeeery far from where he was supposed to be, was funny!

Then the service proper started and immediately the choir started a rendition of ‘Christ Alone’ (my favorite song from Hillsongs Church), I knew I was thoroughly going to enjoy the service! And I did!

After we’d sung that song (and a couple others), the vicar invited people to come out and tell tales of God‘s favour, how they had either received or channeled God’s favour in the past week. Someone told of some help they’d received in their volunteering role, another person talked about God helping him have patience with his 91-year-old mom, and another person (I hear he was the former priest) talked about God using a lady in the parish to show him favour. Brought tears to my eyes because he was pretty emotional when he was speaking…

Not even going to lie, I nearly dozed off during the Bible reading, it was so long! But then the message started and all the sleep vanished (praise the Lord)!

Sermon time! I’m reproducing my notes, ok?

*I keep saying that we christians complicate Christ and Christianity so much that we make it impossible for anyone to join in. Then we hold countless prayer vigils and fasts because the “harvest is plenty but the labourers are few”. No, the labourers are not few, the labourers are trampling on the harvest instead of gathering it/them up!

*We elevate Ministers of the gospel to positions where we had hitherto placed God (past tense because God never shares His spot in our hearts with anyone or anything) and so when they make mistakes (because they are flesh and therefore fallible) we become disappointed.

*We should avoid the ‘public declarations without private substance’ club as true sons and daughters of the Lord. Are we doing what we say are? Or we are totally different people in our hidden places?

Romans 7:14-25

*Every believer is a work -in-progress, constantly aiming for perfection. And so even though we expect life to be full of unequivocal certainties, life is full of ambiguities: it is for the most part, unsure. That’s why we must trust God, who knows the end from the beginning!

*The Bible pulls no punches in its portrayal of human beings, it is we human beings who idolize certain characters in there as being without sin. It is that characteristic we then transfer to our pastors, priests, etc. David (man after God’s heart) made a mistake, Noah got drunk, Ruth ‘deceived’ Boaz into marrying her, Moses had a temper, Gideon was a chicken (lol), all these great men were fallible.

Whatever you do, 100% trust and faith in God is absolutely necessary. NOT in man or in possessions, but in God. Him alone!

Highlight of the service for me was attending with my Booski! Another major highlight was singing one of my favorite songs ever, ‘Christ Alone’ from my church in London (Hillsongs). I’m still searching high and low for a video (or audio) for it, but you’ll be the first to know soon as I have it!

Enjoy the weekend, and make sure you fellowship with the brethren tomorrow!

Say something!

