The quest to renewing my Nigerian ‘pali’ (Part Two)

Posted: January 28, 2014 in DAY 2 DAY, TRAVELOGUE
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, part one to this tale is here.

I wasn’t sure what documents I needed for this ‘interview’ to renew my Nigerian passport (renew o, not get a brand new one) so I took all the documents I had confirming my citizenship. I had to go off my route to retrieve some documents from a friend, and then it was off to the Embassy.

Got there, and I was told at the door that I needed to get a postal order worth £20 from the Post Office. Why didn’t anyone say this before? Mention or even hint at it? Online or the day I filled out the forms? Why?

Fortunately I didn’t need any form of transportation to get there but it was freezing, and was time I could have saved to be honest.

I got back from getting it, and because I already had a ‘number’, I sat down and watched a woman try in vain to control her four young boys whose favorite word in the whole wide world (and response to every request, directive, or scolding) was ‘NO’. I chuckled over and over.

Multiple cold repellents (read as hot chocolate) meant I needed to pee, and so to the conveniences I went. Full stop, but I took pictures.

IMAG0135 IMAG0136

No comment.

Must have spent an hour and then it was my turn to be ‘interviewed’. Got to the counter and they just confirmed I had paid the application fee, collected the postal order and form, and asked me to go sit down and wait to be ushered upstairs for biometric capturing.

Huh? What happened to the ‘interview’? What of the documents I’d been told I needed to convince Nigeria I was Nigerian? I needed to justify the dossier I’d hauled from home. The man said, “you don’t need them”, and then called out the next number. I wanted to say something, but then I reminded myself that I am a daughter of Zion, said thank you (didn’t believe I had one in me) and went to sit.

Started blogging (obviously) till I heard an argument getting louder and decided to listen (how else would I have this story for you?)

This lady had filed out an application, but didn’t have her old passport. Where was it Missy? She said officials collected it from her at the airport because it was expired. Huh? That’s not normal now is it? The more probable thing is you won’t be allowed to fly in the first instance, or you’ll be turned back at the point of entry.

Madam didn’t want to hear that she needed her old passport or some documentation to be able to get a new one. And so there was a lot of yelling, “do you know who I am” thrown about, all of that drama. Of course that meant that my reading/blogging gave way to tatafo. I started thinking too, who did she think was 5 years old there? What did she mean by officials collected it from her? Which officials? And she walked away from them quietly after they collected it? O da.

I got called for my biometrics, went upstairs, and while I waited, I saw the Dame on TV, leading some prayer session. No I didn’t watch, I just took a couple of pictures.

2013-12-17 12.31.01

They prayed, they sang…fill in the blanks…

Got my photo and prints captured and I was asked to come back in two weeks. Sigh.

The End.

Update – I went in on the day and after waiting for about 30 minutes, collected the passport of life and destiny. And I hear I got it easier than most. Either way, I’m grateful!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Maggielola says:

    Phew! What an ordeal. I’m questioning the training, orientation, or whatever preparedness these people had before they assumed their positions. What you (and that lady) experienced was trashy treatment from a customer service perspective. So the lady is forming barbie, so what? They could have transferred her to someone else as soon as the brouhaha escalated.

    This tatafo is very meaty, I like. And why was the Dame on TV? #justasking lol 😀

    Like

    • Dame was praying for the nation na! SMH. When they won’t do what they’re supposed to do, they’re praying all over the place. Never impressed abeg.

      About the lady, walai I was so amused! Are we kids? Which official at the airport will seize your passport without doing something to you as well (like sending you back to your country or at least writing you up)? Our people sha.

      I’m just grateful I got the passport, a couple people have said I had it easy so even though I was proper pissed off, it could have been worse!

      Like

Say something!

