Have you showed up or are you still hiding?

Posted: November 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

I was in The Redeemed Church of God, Trinity Chapel, Barking branch on Sunday the 16th of November, and early on in the service Resident Pastor Dr Alade said it was dedicated to the late Dr Myles Munroe, who died on Monday. I blogged about him here.

The service pretty much revolved around the life and times of Dr Munroe, but with an interesting slant towards how we are living our lives now, and if how we rank when we take the ‘turbulence test’. Do you know what that is? I’ll tell you. But first, a selfie scripture.

Mark 4:20-21 says, “But the seed planted in the good earth represents those who hear the Word, embrace it, and produce a harvest beyond their wildest dreams.  Jesus went on: “Does anyone bring a lamp home and put it under a washtub or beneath the bed? Don’t you put it up on a table or on the mantel?”

Now, I don’t really remember the title of the sermon but I know the subtitle was – “How to experience my destiny of increase”.

Ok, so back to the turbulence test, here it is. If you’re ever in a plane and there’s turbulence and your immediate thoughts and prayer revolve around how you can’t die either because you’re not sure of heaven or cause you’ve not accomplished all (or half) of what you should, you’re not living yet!

Myles Munroe said, “if you cannot see the ultimate, you will be a slave to the immediate”. Kinda reminds me of politicians in Nigeria but let’s move on quickly.

Pastor Alade said (and I believe) that “God has deposited so much in us as His children; we do Him (and ourselves) a great disservice by not utilising those deposits.

2 Kings 4: 1-7 tells the story of the widow whose husband died leaving her in debt and the after the man of God asked her what she had left and she mentioned the cruise of oil, he asked her to fill drums etc. She kept on pouring, and the oil didn’t run out till her son said they were out of vessels. right?

Question for you –

  • Are you living or surviving?
  • Have you showed up or are you still hiding?
  • What are you doing with your oil?

How do we satisfactorily answer those questions?

Find your purpose. Why are we here? Why do you exist? Dr Myles Munroe said “if purpose is not known abuse is inevitable”. Purpose however, is informed by potential. So, babies crawl, but they have the God-given ability to walk. That only happens when they’ve grown a bit, exercised their limbs, etc. In the same way, much as a bird might love water/seas/rivers, it cannot swim. Why? It doesn’t have the innate ability to do so.

So, what’s your potential ability? Ask God, if you can’t figure it out. But find it, because you can be great in potential yet poor in performance. Again think Nigeria and all the ‘Giant of Africa’ business I’ve been hearing since I was a toddler. *rolls eyes* God will help us in Jesus name!

Still on potentials and purpose, what are we doing with our minds? Big question because the empires of the future are first the empires of the mind. The Bible says to keep our hearts/minds with all diligence. Will you do that? Will you?

xx

Comments
  1. tessadoghor says:

    Are you living or surviving?
    I am thriving. Early in life, I got enough challenges that helped get rid of the spoiled brat in me. I don’t always have to get what I want when I want it; I can wait for God’s time.

    Have you showed up or are you still hiding?
    I have showed up, I spent the better part of the last 10 years hiding, then the last five years I showed up a bit. I pray for the courage to enter into God’s will for me fully in Jesus name, amen.

    What are you doing with your oil?
    My oil. Interestingly I am anointed. I went through a lot to get it to come out. I could have given up but those trying times helped me to know divinity. Presently all I do is the job of a Barnabas, I have unimaginable faith, God will help me. I am manifesting by God’s grace and I pray that I will be patient and attentive enough to learn from the Holy Ghost.

    Cheers.
    Love your posts, so intelligent!

    Like

    • Hey Tessa!

      Hei…so many compliments in one comment o!
      Good for you about showing up and your oil!! And big amen to your prayer for more courage…from your lips to His ears boo!

      Thank you, thank you, thank you..

      Like

Say something!

