Yes!! One male, one female! That’s what I’m trying to achieve this year with the #31Days31Writers series… Love it! The different voices, the diversity in our experiences, I love it! Again I’m humbled when people I don’t know/don’t really know reach out to offer entries for this series… Thank you for considering my blog worthy of your time, effort, and experiences!

Say hello to our entry for today, Oladayo!

2015. Oh 2015, you gave me quite a scare at some point but trust God to make everything beautiful in His time.Yes!

My name is Oladayo and 2015 has been the year. Started routinely, life going as usual, then came the bump in the road. However, it only helped me find myself in God and made me a better, stronger man. And like any good movie, the end of the year is much better. All bumps were navigated and multiple lessons were learned. Will share a few:

I have learned to lean totally on God and avoid self-help especially when He’s promised to sort me out. You can never underestimate the leading of God in life.

I learned how to overcome my fears and reduce my tendency to worry. If I really can’t help it, why worry? Better to commit to God and wait on Him to show up.

I have learned the importance of building one’s faith in advance so that when great faith is needed, it can be tapped into. I have learned the power of organic growth and the futility of comparing oneself with others. Trust me, we all have our challenges. Grow at your pace and run your own race. There is space for us all to thrive.

I have many things to be thankful for:

1. My wife – my rock, the soft-spoken, gentle tower of strength beside me.

2. Friends who show up for me, giving what I ask for without asking why I need. Nothing is too much to ask friends. I needed a loan for a project and my bank took months to say no. It took my friend less than a day to give the funds needed when I asked.

3. Many minute, day-to-day blessings that tally up to very big miracles. I ventured into projects that normally would look scary and I am coming out unscathed through God’s Grace.

4. Nigeria – thankful that we still have a country. With all its flaws, we are still standing. The turn of the year brought a lot of fear and even now when I see Syria, I am thankful for the relative peace we enjoy in Nigeria

5. Safe travels – been another intense travel year, rate of over 1 flight a week. I see all the issues in aviation worldwide and I can’t but be thankful for safe and eventless flights.

All in all, I am looking forward to 2016 with the assurance that it’s going to be a much better year on all fronts. I believe I will be reaching new frontiers, all by God’s Grace.

Thank you Oladayo! Here’s a big amen to all your prayers, for you and your family, and all the readers on this blog! Someone said recently on Twitter that beneath all the smart quips and laughs on Twitter, some of us struggled this year, and she prayed that the joys of 2016 would make us forget everything that hurt/stung. 

Come back tomorrow everyone!

Comments
  1. E' says:

    Totally enjoyed this one.
    Esp building your faith in advance… cos mehn!!!!
    Lemme just stop there.
    In my mind, I have written my own. I have even sent it to you sef. Hahaha. I know I am late plus my own will be long so lemme save it for my blog.
    And yes, your closing line is so right!!! We all, at least I certainly do have my challenges but I am learning to maintain that thin line between glorifying them and being bravely vulnerable. Because frankly we should SHARE our challenges. If I sent you an entry, I had already decided I was going to share my challenges and what I learned from them this year…
    Ok Eziaha stop…
    Great job Chioma. You give me posts to look forward to darling.
    God bless you. And I look forward to the 31st because… u know why haha

    Like

  2. Lovely! Glad for you Dayo and for God’s leading. That clarity is everything. Raises a glass to God’s faithfulness and friends and family who He planted on your path. Thanks for sharing your gratitude list. So many things to be grateful for.

    May 2016 be better in every way.

    Like

  3. Looks like I’m going to be sending ,mine tonight! Haha! loved the way he spoke about God’s amazing Goodness!

    Like

Say something!

