Good morning!

If you’re reading this, you’re still here, in the land of the living, and it is something everything to be grateful for. Regardless of what is right and what isn’t, you’re still here, and therefore there’s still hope. Remember the bit in the Bible that says, “a living dog is better than a dead lion?” Truism.

Last night like a lot of you I heard Goldie Harvey was dead. Oluwabimpe Susan ‘Goldie’ Harvey, aged 31. Goldie from Big Brother Africa for me, because now that I think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever listened to a song she did. Anyway  I was like, ‘no way, not possible’! The same person who was at the Grammy’s on Sunday? I remember having a conversation with one of my buddies about her music, and the need for music artistes to stick with labels that would be able to go the distance with/for them.

After all the back and forth on Twitter on why her death was announced on a blog, if she was dead at all, why she died, the nastiness of some, baby girl is really dead. Just like that. And I literally went to bed in shock. #RIPGoldie

This morning I’m reminded more than ever how much of our lives is a gift….Life is fleeting, so short, so brisk, here today and tomorrow gone. How anything can happen. Anything. We go out, come back, travel, eat in our homes or out, drive, take public transportation, fall in and out of love, even sleep – in doing any of these, our lives can just be taken away. But, you’re reading this so you’re still here.

Are you grateful? Or are you murmuring and grumbling about having £10 when you wanted £1, 000, 000? Or you’re whining because your life isn’t all you expected it would be at this time? Think about it – we’re not any better than the ones who have passed, not more righteous, not prettier, wealthier, not more deserving of life, but we’re still here. I don’t know about you but I slept, I woke up, and I’m grateful.

This morning I’m also reminded about how fast death happens, and the jolting shock, each time. Here today, tomorrow no more, for whatever reason. I’ve written about death before, when I lost a dear uncle, when we lost a baby and an aunty in a week, and after attending a service at an Anglican church; the sermon was on death and it touched my soul. You never get used to death; never.

My heart goes out to Goldie’s family, my thoughts and prayers are with them in this very difficult, excruciating time even. And for those of us still here, each day we have is a gift.

May the soul of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace, Amen.

Say something!